

BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING APPROVED MINUTES

Monday, October 17, 2022 at 1:00 pm Hybrid Meeting 6302 E. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Suite 100 Tampa, FL 33619

MEETING ATTENDANCE

Facilitator: Aakash Patel, Chair

Board Members Present:

Tracye Brown, Cynthia Chipp*, Dr. Lise Fox*, Dr. Daphne Fudge, Adam Giery*, Carl Harness, Dr. Stephie Holmquist Johnson, Amanda Jae, Dr. Jacquelyn Jenkins, Dr. Jodi Marshall*, Commissioner Gwen Myers, Allison Nguyen, Kelley Parris, Beth Pasek, Aakash Patel, Dustin Portillo, Melissa Raburn, Dr. Shawn Robinson, Stacie Ward, & Michelle Zieziula

Board Members Absent: Lee Bowers, Dianne Jacob, & Sheila Rios

ELCHC Staff:

Alison Fraga, Gary Meyer, Rick Rampersad, Kelley Minney, Kiyana Scott, Abigail Perez*, Helen Sovich, Nancy Metsker, Hannah Goble, Erica Turchin, Cynthia Martinez, Shayna Urrabazo, Janet Diaz Montes, Jennifer Johnson, Jessica Sladky*, Nicole Gonzalez*, Gwen Feldhake*, Kimbra Bradley*, Kristina Connelly*, Dominque Watson*, Lisa Elliot*, Sharon Hayes*, Allie Provau*, Henrry Ramos*, Kalesta Jones*, Kenya Leal*, Kenya Rowe Dickinson, Brittany Walton*, Diane Kollner*, Dorothy Voegeli*, Jessica Salgado*, Joseline Ramirez*, Tierica Green*, Meena Saxena*, Tammi McGinn*, Krystal Mitchell*, Kathy Kaaa*, Karla Torres*, Kevin Smith*, Lauren Morgan*, Jordhan Naranjo*, Michelle Santiago*, Aja Price*, Enidza Rodriguez*, Armondo Valdez*, Yalena Sanchez*, Sander Colon*, Jackie Ouzts*, Janet Welch*, Theon Salley*, Lance Schenk*, Yarima Hernandez Tamayo*, Kari Archambeau*, Loretha Myrthil*, Tiffany Basch*, Norman De Jesus*, Naomi Hernandez*, Aniya Young*, Bobbi Huard*, Darnell Smith*, Jennifer Dukes*, Adinays Reyna Rodas*, Aida Dubois*, QiiAni Williams*, Tammy Freeman*, Matricia Stubbs*, Martha Aguiar*, Javier Tamayo*, Rayn Moses, Eric Cruz*, Suzanne O'Carroll*, Stacey Francois, Lissette Godwin, Ingrid Sanchez*, & Andrea Houchin*,

Other Attendees:

Dr. Frederick Hicks, Chris Letsos, Eric Johnson, Frazier Carraway, Megan Folts, Lorinda Gamson, Angela Chowning, Tonia Williams, Evelio Torres* Montavious Morgan, Kalen Graham*, Marni Fuente*, Dr. Tina Honey*, Denise Pullano*, Argie Kontodiakos*, Naomi Riveria*, Chandra Donalson*, Christopher Gomez*, Dr. Alexis Perdereaux-Weekes*, Laura Boehmer* Mercy Castiglione*, Pete Edards*, James Jacob*, Tamara Garcia*, Dr. Natalie Johnson*, Dr. L. Knowles*, Genet Stewart*, L. Benjamin*, Amy Haile*, Jason Marlow*, Rachel Kummelman*, Laura Villalobos*, Ed Joseph*, Renee Graham*, Walker Costa* & Molly L*

*Indicates attendance via Zoom meeting platform.



CALL TO ORDER

Ouorum Verification

Noting a quorum had been established, Chair Patel called the meeting to order at 1:01 pm.

The Board of Directors conducted interviews of the final three candidates for the Chief Executive Officer position during their regular meeting.

Mr. Christopher Gomez, Spirit Consulting, gave a CEO Search summary highlighting the following:

- 1. 144 candidates were narrowed down to five candidates that underwent background screenings and I/O assessments.
- 2. Of the five candidates, three finalists were selected, Dr. Frederick Hicks, Eric Johnson, and Chris Letsos.
- 3. There were two female candidates who withdrew for personal reasons.
- 4. 33% diversity in finalists when defined by race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or veteran status
- 5. 66% diversity in finalists when defined by diversity of thought

The Board of Directors introduced themselves to the three finalists and asked staff and public attending in-person to introduce themselves.

FINALIST INTERVIEWS

The Board of Directors asked each finalist the same 15 questions about their experience and skills, community alignment, childcare providers, finance, leadership, and relationships, to which the finalists responded. Board members were given time to ask their own questions at the end of each interview.

BOARD DEBRIEF & VOTING

There was discussion on whether the board could go into Executive Session to discuss the three finalists. Board attorney, Frazier Carraway stated that the candidates cannot be excluded from deliberations. There are very few exclusions to the Sunshine Law and this was not one of them.

Mr. Carraway stated that the Board could not ask public or staff to leave the meeting at anytime. The three finalists volunteered to not be present during the discussion. A portion of the staff that were in-person volunteered to not be present during the discussion.

Dr. Stephie Holmquist Johnson made a motion to do a written ballot. Dr. Shawn Robinson made a second. Motion failed.

Board members expressed their concerns of not having an Executive Session to discuss the finalists.

Dr. Lise Fox made a motion to discuss the candidates as a board. Dr. Shawn Robinson made a second. Kelley Parris voted no. The motion carried.

There was a discussion about the three finalists. Each board member had an opportunity to share their thoughts on each finalist.

Commissioner Myers made a motion to vote on one of the said names, Dr. Lise Fox made a second.

A roll call vote was taken.

Lee Bowers	Not present
Tracye Brown	Dr. Hicks
Cynthia Chipp	Dr. Hicks
Lise Fox	Dr. Hicks
Daphne Fudge	Dr. Hicks
Adam Giery	Dr. Hicks
Carl Harness	Dr. Hicks
Stephie Holmquist Johnson	Dr. Hicks
Dianne Jacob	Not present
Amanda Jae	Dr. Hicks
Jacquelyn Jenkins	Eric Johnson
Jodi Marshall	Chris Letsos
Commissioner Gwen Myers	Dr. Hicks
Allison Nguyen	Dr. Hicks
Kelley Parris	Abstain
Beth Pasek	Abstain
Dustin Portillo	Dr. Hicks
Melissa Raburn	Dr. Hicks
Shiela Rios	Not present
Stacie Ward	Chris Letsos
Shawn Robinson	Dr. Hicks
Michelle Zieziula	Dr. Hicks
Chair Aakash Patel	Did not vote

- Dr. Frederick Hicks received 14 votes
- Chris Letsos received 2 votes
- Eric Johnson received 1 vote

The majority of the members present voted in favor of Dr. Hicks.

Kelley Parris and Beth Pasek abstained. The motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

Citing no further business, Dr. Shawn Robinson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 pm. Dr. Stephie Holmquist Johnson made a second. The motion carried unanimously.

Read and approved by:	Stephanie Holmquist	Jun 29, 2023	
11 3	Dr. Stephie Holmquist Johnson, Sec	retary Date	

10.17.2022 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes_Approved

Final Audit Report 2023-06-29

Created: 2023-06-29

By: Nancy Will (nwill@elchc.org)

Status: Signed

Transaction ID: CBJCHBCAABAAknAvwxWBkq14slsQ6T46d22Eq0MH5l93

"10.17.2022 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes_Approved" Hist ory

- Document created by Nancy Will (nwill@elchc.org) 2023-06-29 7:28:53 PM GMT
- Document emailed to Stephanie Holmquist (stephie@hecedu.com) for signature 2023-06-29 7:29:06 PM GMT
- Email viewed by Stephanie Holmquist (stephie@hecedu.com) 2023-06-29 11:18:19 PM GMT
- Document e-signed by Stephanie Holmquist (stephie@hecedu.com)
 Signature Date: 2023-06-29 11:18:33 PM GMT Time Source: server
- Agreement completed.
 2023-06-29 11:18:33 PM GMT